Golf followed by dinner in walkers pubs in South Downs – what could be better?

Smiley Yellow Golf Ball

There are times when the only thing better than a game of golf is a game of golf followed by a meal in one of my favourite pubs for walkers in Sussex. This is especially true when the summer season is upon us and the sun is shining brightly, because all golfers know how much more enjoyable the game is when the weather is good. Personally, I have been more than a little obsessed by the game of golf for more than twenty-five years now.

One of the things I find most fascinating about golf is that, even if you play seven days a week for a month or more, no two rounds are likely to be the same. One day you will be hitting the ball a long distance straight down the middle of the fairway while the next afternoon you suddenly feel as though you can’t play the game for love nor money. The one consolation about all this however is that a number of superb Sussex pubs for families will be ready and waiting to welcome you no matter how good or bad you think you are.

http://shepherdanddogpub.co.uk/

Every golfer I know has his or her own aspect of the game at which they excel, and other parts that they are just not very good at. For me, I like to hit the ball off the tee with my driver and perhaps nine times out of ten the ball will go a relatively long way in an arrow straight direction. It’s a lovely feeling to be able to do that, especially when my opponents struggle to do the same. When I’m in my favourite cycle friendly pubs in Sussex after the round, I’m a particularly happy bunny.

Pubs in the South Downs National Park are perfect for post-game assessment

Having said all that, there is one part of my game that always managed to let me down just when I think things are going well. In my case, it’s putting, an activity that most of my regular playing partners seem to excel at. There is something rather infuriating about this for me, especially because I have spent many hours practising on the putting green at my local club. I’ve also had a few lessons in this discipline over the years, but improvement just won’t come. I talk about it a lot in rural pubs near Brighton, but I still get no joy.

Another difficult part of the game for me is playing shots out of bunkers. I seem to have some kind of psychological block that comes into effect whenever my ball rolls into the sand, and for some reason this is really getting to me at the moment. Many of my friends are brilliant at playing bunker shots, but I guess I just don’t have those skills. No wonder I talk about this a lot in my favourite rural pubs in Sussex when the subject of conversation turns to golf.

While I play golf with a diverse selection of friends from work and from my local community, not all of them make tracks to pubs for cyclists in South Downs after the game. I find it very therapeutic to settle back after all that walking with a couple of cold drinks and maybe even a bite to eat. One of the best local hostelries serves up a wonderfully tasty beef lasagne, and in all honesty I consider this dish to be the ultimate comfort food for a tired and sometimes stressed out golfer.

Leave a comment